There are five small "house" museums on the grounds of the Old City Cemetery that interpret the history of the Cemetery, the City of Lynchburg, and the surrounding counties. Each museum, except the Mourning Museum, is designed to be self-guided. They can be experienced at your own pace anytime the Cemetery gates are open. [The Mourning Museum is inside the Cemetery Center and is only open when the Center is open.] Recorded audio messages and/or brochures help tell the stories of these unique museums. Station House Museum This depot was the CandO Railway Station at Stapleton, Amherst County, Virginia, from 1897 to 1937. It was reconstructed here to interpret the rich railroad history found in Lynchburg and the Cemetery. Interior furnishings reflect the WWI era. Pest House Medical Museum This two-room, restored building depicts conditions in Lynchburg's "House of Pestilence" during the Civil War, as well as the medical office of Lynchburg's beloved country doctor, John Jay Terrell. Medicinal herbs are planted close by. The Cemetery Center, which houses the office of the Southern Memorial Association and the Old City Cemetery, is open every day of the week from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m., March through October. During the winter (November through February) the Center is closed on Sundays.